Hold On To Your Mother Effin Chips!

A friend of mine pointed me to a contest for guacamole.   Why not.  I love coming up with recipes.  Well, I take that back.  I like cooking off the cuff, but paying attention to actual measurements, etc., meh, not so much.  However, on rare occasions such as this, I bust out my attention and write things down.  This recipe was super simple and you can eat it as is with some simple chips or you can serve it over some grilled fish, shrimp, chicken, and have yourself an awesome meal.

I love my sweet and savory together.  I make a tomatoless fruit salsa that I put on my fish tacos and when trying to think of different ways to reinvent the classic guacamole, fruit was the natural place to go for me.  Sweet, savory, spicy…it’s a triple threat for sure.   If you close your eyes, you can imagine yourself whisked away to a tropical island.  Ok, maybe you’ll have to add a mojito or two to do that, but hey, that would go fantastic with the guacamole too.  So grab your tortilla chips or chips of choice and hold on!  This recipe is a winner and sure to please.

Tropical Fruit Guacamole

2 ripe avocados from Mexico, pitted, peeled, and chopped

2 Dole tropical fruit cups, drained (the 4 oz cups….and the best thing about using fruit cups is the fruit is always ripe and it’s already chopped for you)

1/4 large red onion, minced

1 clove garlic, minced

2 TBSPN lime juice

2-3 TBSPN cumin

1-2 TBSPN adobo seasoning (I used Frontier Organic)

1/4 TSPN cayenne pepper

4 oz roasted, peeled, diced mild green chilis

Sea salt to taste

Mix everything together in a medium sized bowl.  If you like your guacamole on the smoother side, take the back of a fork and mash the avocado a bit.   Let chill out for about 5 minutes for the flavors to come together and serve with your favorite chip of choice.   I ate some as is and later on tonight I’m going to grill up some shrimp that I will marinate in a mango balsamic, some garlic, cumin, and lemon juice and have myself a good old meal.  Some Benadryl too (I’m allergic to shellfish, but I eat it anyway….one of these days it will probably kill me, but it’s SHELLFISH!  Mmmmm mmmmm good!), but it’s worth it.

Sweet, savory, spicy....TRIPLE THREAT!

Leave a Reply

