It’s Peanut Butter Jelly Time Peanut Butter Jelly Time

Ok, not really.  It’s actually peanut butter cup time!   I don’t know why I have never attempted to make these until today.  Clearly, I have been missing out and so have you if you have never made a homemade peanut butter cup.  Let’s get real, Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups are sooooooooooo good.  However, my peanut butter cups, eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeven better!  LOL   I even shocked myself.  Wait until Jim eats one.  He will want to marry me all over again.  Hell, maybe I will get some jewelry out of the deal.   ; )

I’m keeping this blog short and sweet as it should be.   Time is a wasting!

I will say before I post the recipe that it’s a combination of several recipes I saw.  I did not invent some new fangled recipe, but I didn’t really use one recipe either.  So if you see this recipe and say, “hey lady, that’s mine”…..so sorry.

Peanut Butter Cups

12 oz bag of chocolate chips (I used semi-sweet because that’s what I had on hand, next time I am going for the dark chocolate)

1 TBSPN shortening

1 cup creamy peanut butter

3 TBSPN melted butter (actually, I think I used more like 3 and a half and I used salted butter not unsalted)

1 TSPN bourbon vanilla (I used a local product that I bought at the farmers market)

1 cup powdered sugar

 

In a small saucepan over low heat, melt the chocolate with the shortening.  Be careful not to burn the chocolate.  Once melted take it off the heat.

Get some muffin cup liners (you can make minis or big honkers like I did and you will get about 8 big PBC if you make the bigguns and I will guess and say about 30-40 if you make the minis) and with the back of a small spoon, coat each liner with the melted chocolate.   Make sure you cannot see the bottom of the liner, if you can, your layer is too thin.  Add more chocolate if this is the case.  Stick in the freezer to chill (about 30 minutes)

While those are chilling, you can make the peanut butter filling.   In a bowl, mix the peanut butter, melted butter, powdered sugar, and vanilla together.  Try not to eat it while the shells are chilling in the freezer.

Pull the chilled shells out of the freezer, fill with the peanut butter, and cover with the remaining melted chocolate (you will probably have to gently heat it back up a bit to get it melted again).  Place back in the freezer to chill.  (about another 30 minutes)

Let them sit about  5-10 minutes at room temp before mowing them down.  Unless you don’t care and want to eat them frozen because they are just too damn good to wait and eat.

Leave a Reply

