Store Bought, Schmore Bought!

While I was doing time at Munson for bad hemoglobin/iron behavior, I got to chatting with one of the GI Docs about food.   Doesn’t everybody talk about food with their GI doctor?  LOL   She said that she buys hummus and baba premade from the store.   *Gasp*  I promised her that I would blog both my hummus and my baba ghanoush recipes when I returned to the land of the living.  

The hummus recipe will come later (as I have no chickpeas in the house, terrible I know!), but I have the baba ghanoush/ghannouj recipe all set to go.   Who needs store bought when you can make it at home!  

Baba Ghanoush

2 medium-large eggplants

3 TBSPN Tahini

2-3 cloves of garlic

1/4 cup Fustini’s Roasted Garlic Olive Oil (If you don’t have this in your cupboard, feel free to use regular olive oil instead)

2-3 TBSPN Olive Oil (use a good olive oil, you will taste the difference)

1 TSPN Great Lakes Organic Garam Masala (TC locals you can pick this up at Oryana)

Fresh lemon juice to taste (I used 1 and a half lemons)

Sea Salt to taste

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. 

Wash the eggplants, pierce with a fork, drizzle with a little roasted garlic olive oil (or regular) and roast in the oven for about 45 minutes (or until you start to see the skin wrinkle).   Let cool for about 30 minutes after removing from the oven.  

In a food processor, pulse the garlic until finely minced.  Remove the eggplant “pulp” from the skins and place in food processor, along with remaining ingredients.   Pulse until well incorporated, but do not over process or you will have liquid baba.  You want a nice medium consistency.   Serve with pita slices or your favorite cut up veggies (or just eat it by the spoonful).   

2 responses to “Store Bought, Schmore Bought!

  1. Baba, baby, Baba!! This was fantastic. I am so lucky to have you as my wife.

  2. Pingback: The What? Baba, Oh Really? | Psst….over here! Welcome to my bitchin kitchen

Leave a Reply

