Store Bought, Schmore Bought Part Two!

The garbanzo bean fairy made a drop off this afternoon and hummus was born.  Just like the baba, you will never want to buy hummus ever again after making it from scratch.   It is so easy to make and you could take this basic recipe and jazz it up to make all different kinds of hummus.   Example, throw in some chives and roasted garlic.   If peppers are your thing (so not mine) throw in some roasted peppers too.   See where I’m going with this?  The possibilities are endless.   All you need is a little kitchen imagination.    So get your pita slices ready and dive right in. 

Hummus

2, 15 oz cans garbanzo beans, drained

2-3 cloves of garlic

1/2 cup tahini

1/4 cup Fustini’s roasted garlic olive oil

3 TBSPN Fustini’s meyer lemon olive oil

3 TBSPN olive oil 

1 TSPN Great Lakes organic garam masala

Lemon juice to taste (use at least 1 lemon and go from there, I used 1 and a half lemons)

Sea salt to taste

In a food processor, pulse the garlic until minced.   Add the remaining ingredients and pulse until well incorporated.   I like my hummus on the thicker side (not chunky, just thicker)  If you like a thinner, creamier hummus, you may want to add more olive oil. 

Chill in the fridge until ready to serve.   

One response to “Store Bought, Schmore Bought Part Two!

  1. I am not a fairy; fairies wear boots, and you gotta believe me (a little Black Sabbath reference). Actually, I will play fairy any day so long as I can enjoy my wife’s epicurious expeditions; the latest being hummus. Never thought I would be a fan of the chick pea, but I am, baby, I am. Can’t believe a boy from the RC is a huge fan of both the Baba and the hummus.

Leave a Reply

