Start Spreading The News….

Start spreading the news….I’m cooking today.   Chowdah!   I love a good chowder and I make several types, but my yea of little faith husband didn’t think I would be able to pull off the Manhattan style chowder.   Is he kidding?  LOL   I can make anything and everything.  Who me, confident in my cooking skills?   What?  Nah.   ; )   

Not only did I show him, he insisted that I blog the recipe because he thought it was to die for.  He was calling relatives on the phone to brag that he was eating it.  So, ladies (and gentlemen, because YOU CAN COOK) I give to you my fish chowder recipe.  

I wasn’t planning on blogging this the night I made it (2 days ago) so I didn’t snap a picture.  However, I froze some.  Next time I go to have a bowl (or make a fresh batch) I will snap a picture and post it at a later date.  

Manhattan Style Fish Chowder
 
4-5 Halibut cheeks, cut into cubes  (TC locals, get it from Alaska Premium Seafoods)
 
1 pound of crab meat (doesn’t really matter what kind you use, but the better the quality, the better the soup)
 
32 oz chicken stock
 
29 oz tomato sauce (don’t confuse this with marinara, you can also sub out tomato puree for this)
 
15 oz can petite sweet diced tomatoes w/onions, undrained
 
2, 11 oz cans of sweet corn  (I use Del Monte Summer Sweet Corn and since there is hardly any liquid in the cans, I did not drain this either) 
 
1/2 cup diced carrots
 
6 stalks of celery, with the leaves, chopped
 
1 medium vidalia onion, chopped
 
6 slices of thick cut bacon, diced
 
10 baby redskin potatoes, cubed
 
4-5 cloves of garlic, minced
 
4-5 TBSPN Old Bay
 
3-4 TBSPN Granulated Garlic
 
1 TBSPN Onion Powder
 
1 TBSPN Celery Salt
 
1 TSPN Ground Mustard
 
3-4 Healthy shakes of Worcestershire sauce
 
Sea salt, to taste
 
Hot shot (red and black pepper mix), to taste
 
 
 
In a soup pot, crisp up the bacon to render out the fat.   When the bacon is cooked and crispy, remove from the pot and set aside.  You will use the crispy bacon later as a garnish.   In the soup pot with the bacon fat, sweat out the onions, celery, carrots, garlic, and potatoes.   Let this cook for about 5-7 minutes.  Toss in the fish and crab and let cook for a few minutes.   Toss in the corn and cook for another minute or so.    Stir in the chicken stock, tomato sauce, diced tomatoes (with the liquid), old bay, granulated garlic, onion powder, ground mustard, celery salt, and worcestershire sauce.    Cover with a lid, and bring to a boil over medium heat.   When the soup is boiling, reduce the heat and continue to cook, covered,  over a low heat (simmer) for at least 3-4 hours.   You want enough time for the flavors to marry.   After 3 hours of cooking, season with salt and hot shot to taste.  
 
Top the soup with the crispy bacon (in your bowl, not the pot) right before serving.  If you are serving this to a ton of people, you will want to crisp up some more bacon because the 6 slices isn’t going to cut it.   I also had a nice crusty roasted garlic sourdough to dip into the soup and it was yum.

2 responses to “Start Spreading The News….

  1. Now I can’t wait to make this soup.Must go to the store.

  2. When my wife says she can make a “chowdah”, boy howdy, she can make a CHOWDAH!!!! Even I, the king lover of New England style chowder, about fell over when I tasted this Manhattan-style red extravagence. Way to go, wifey; way to go. (Next time, take a picture like I said!)

Leave a Reply

