Unstuff It!

I have been missing in action, but I’m kind of back.  I had some surgeries, got hit with the norovirus (Yum to talk about on a food blog, lol), and I am still trying to recover all while taking care of 3 under the age of 3.   So these are the days that scream crock pot cooking.  It’s easy and I can prep in the morning and forget about it all day.  When my husband gets home, dinner is all ready.  You just cannot beat it.

I have been craving stuffed cabbage, but I never look forward to all the work involved.  So today I decided to unstuff my stuffed cabbage.  Imagine stuffed cabbage marries cabbage soup and they have a little baby.  Unstuffed cabbage is then born.  This is thicker than a normal cabbage soup would be, but thinner than a stew.   At any rate, my husband thought it was awesome.   You can eat it like a soup or serve it over mashed potatoes.  I chose to serve it over mashed potatoes tonight.

 

Unstuffed Cabbage

1, 29 oz can of tomato puree

29 oz of water (I just filled the puree can and dumped it in the crock pot)

14.5 oz beef broth

1/2 green cabbage, chopped

1 medium vidalia onion, chopped

4 cloves of garlic, minced

1 pound of ground sirloin

2 big handfuls of light brown sugar

5 TBSPN Ketchup

Juice of half a lemon

2 beef bouillon cubes

2 TBSPN granulated garlic

Salt and pepper to taste

1/2 cup instant white rice

 

Put the cabbage, onions, and garlic on the bottom of the crock pot.  Put the ground sirloin in (and I didn’t even thaw it out, I threw it in frozen).  Pour in the tomato puree, water, and beef broth.   Squeeze in the lemon juice, put in the ketchup, brown sugar, and bouillon.  Let this cook on high for about 4 hours.  After 4 hours, turn the heat down to low and continue to cook for at least another 2 or 3 hours.

About an hour into it cooking on low, break up the meat (because remember, I put mine in frozen), put in the granulated garlic and salt and pepper to taste.  At this point you can also put in the rice.   Let it cook until the cabbage and onions are super tender.   I let mine cook all day.  So don’t be afraid that you will over cook this.

One response to “Unstuff It!

  1. it came out great. I cheated I used cole slaw bag for the cabbage.

Leave a Reply

