Vampires Be Gone!

I love me some garlic and put in almost everything.   I use more than most people would be comfortable with so I scale back when I’m writing a blog entry.

I noticed today that I haven’t blogged my lemon garlic chicken recipe.  Really, it’s just like chicken picatta without the wine (and capers because I despise capers and don’t think that capers belong in true picatta anyway).   It’s one of my simple go to dishes and more importantly, my twins love it.

Lemon Garlic Chicken

4-6 boneless, skinless chicken breasts pounded thin

Seasoned flour for dredging (I season with granulated garlic, a little black pepper, and a little sea salt)

3 cloves minced garlic, or rough chopped if you like chunkier pieces of garlic

1 and 1/2 cup chicken stock

Juice of one lemon (feel free to decrease amount as per your taste)

1-2 TBSPN butter

1 TBSPN granulated garlic

Sea salt and black pepper to taste

2 TBSPN olive oil for sauteing

Season the chicken breasts with a little granulated garlic.   Coat with the seasoned flour and in a frying pan over medium-high heat, saute in the olive oil until golden brown on both sides and cooked through.   Cooking time will depend on thickness of your chicken breasts.  Remove chicken from pan when done cooking at set aside.

In the same pan, melt the butter and saute the garlic for about 30 seconds to 1 minutes.  Add in the chicken stock and lemon juice.   Stir and reduce heat down to about medium-medium low.   Add in the granulated garlic, salt and pepper, and continue to cook the sauce until it reduces down by at least half.   At this point, add the chicken back to the pan and cook until chicken is warmed through.

I’m serving this with an asparagus risotto.   Feel free to serve with your favorite pasta or steamed veggies.

 

One response to “Vampires Be Gone!

  1. That sounds very much like your dads lemon chicken.Yum

Leave a Reply

