Healthy Does Not Have To Mean Bland

I have spent many years in my kitchen trying to figure out ways to make healthy dishes taste not so healthy.   I like the taste of taste, but let’s not kid ourselves here.  I also like the taste of butter, salt, bacon, and chocolate.   Throw in a little Jack, Jim, Or Jose and you have a pretty well balanced meal.  LOL

Poaching is a technique that I think is grossly underused, at least in my house it’s underused.   Well that changes starting today.   It’s an easy, healthy way to give lots of flavor to a dish without adding a lot of fat and calories.

I noticed several balsamic poached chicken recipes on the Internet, but no one recipe really struck my fancy.  So I did what I do best in my kitchen.   Closed my eyes, threw in a bit of this and that, and stopped when it tasted right.  This recipe is definitely a keeper.

Black Currant Balsamic Poached Chicken Breast

2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

2 cups of chicken stock

3/4 cup of Fustini’s black currant balsamic vinegar

3 TBSPN of red wine vinegar

2 TBSPN zip sauce

4 cloves garlic, peeled

1 bunch of scallions, chopped

In a large saucepan, bring all ingredients, except the chicken, to a boil.   Season the chicken with a little sea salt and hot shot and place in the saucepan.   Turn down the heat to a simmer and cook the chicken for about 15-20 minutes (depending on how big your chicken breasts are, mine were on roids for sure).

Take the chicken out of the poaching liquid when done cooking and set aside until ready to serve.

Turn the heat back up on the poaching liquid and reduce down by half.    Slice the chicken and spoon the balsamic reduction sauce over the chicken when serving.

I paired the chicken with some simple oven roasted potatoes and some sautéed spinach and mushrooms with a little feta.   The salty bite of the feta was awesome with the sweetness of the balsamic reduction.

One response to “Healthy Does Not Have To Mean Bland

  1. This dish was fantastic! Once you get over the smell of vinegar while it is cooking, the taste is terrific.

Leave a Reply

