I Say Chewy While You Say Crunchy…

It seems that lately the kids want to steal my Fiber One Bars.   Let’s face it, they’re good.   However, they are super expensive at the rate I go through them.  The other day a friend of mine asked if I had a granola bar recipe (well really a breakfast bar) and it dawned on me that I didn’t.  I think I made granola bars once before, but never really paid attention.

Definitely time to experiment and make my own.   I used my twins as taste testers and they said yummy.   When my twins like something, it’s generally safe to blog about.

Granola Bars

1 cup crushed Honey Cluster Fiber One Cereal

1 and 1/4 cup oats (if you have the flavored instant oatmeal packets and want to use those instead, use 3 of them and leave out the brown sugar listed below)

1/2 cup Grape Nuts

1/2 cup chopped pecans

1/2 cup flax seeds

1/3 cup pomegranate craisins

4 squares ghirardelli bittersweet chocolate, broken into small pieces

1/4 cup honey

1/4 cup maple syrup

4 tbspn unsalted butter

1/2 cup peanut butter

1/3 cup brown sugar

1/2 capful almond extract

1/4 capful maple extract

1 capful of coffee extract

1 tspn vanilla

pinch of sea salt

In a large saucepan, melt down the peanut butter and butter with the honey, maple syrup, brown sugar, almond extract, maple extract, coffee extract, vanilla, and sea salt.  Cook until the brown sugar has dissolved and the mixture starts to boil.   Take off the heat and stir in the remaining ingredients.

Line a baking dish (11 x 9) with some parchment paper, spray with non stick spray, and pour the mixture into the dish.  Cover with another sheet of parchment paper and press down hard to set the bars in place.   Let them cool for at least 2 hours.   Slice into bars when cool.

Leave a Reply

