It’s Fall, It’s Monday, It’s Season Premiere Week!

In honor of the new fall lineup, I decided that it’s TV dinner night.  Show of hands, who remembers the aluminum, non microwavable, TV dinner trays?  I DO I DO!!

Now who remembers any of that tasting good?  I DON’T I DON’T!!   Yet, I still ate them.   I think it was more of a comfort food thing than anything else.  So, tonight I’m making salisbury steak, mashed potatoes with arugula and garlic, and an apple pear crisp.  A TV dinner was never complete without the dessert.

Now all I need to buy is the ceramic version of the TV dinner “tray” so I can do it up proper by keeping all foods separate.

I will not be blogging my mashed potato recipe.  Primarily because I never measure anything when it comes to my mashed potatoes.  I can make these with my eyes closed (generally I’m not putting arugula and garlic in them, but every good TV dinner also includes a vegetable hence the addition of arugula) and just know when they are right.   I will tell you that my mashed potatoes always include butter, sour cream, milk, kosher salt, and black pepper.

Now to mix meat!  Put the ground sirloin in a bowl….yada, yada, yada…..salisbury steak!   Wait, wrong TV season.  ; )

Salisbury Steak

1 pound of ground sirloin

1 large egg

1/4-1/2  vidalia onion (depending on the size) finely minced onion

2 cloves crushed garlic

1/2 cup ground club crackers  (feel free to use panko or regular breadcrumbs instead)

1 TBSPN worcestershire sauce

2 TBSPN zip sauce

Granulated garlic, sea salt, hot shot (all to taste)

Mix all ingredients together, but be careful not to overmix as you will have tough meat.  Form into 4-6 oval patties.

In a nonstick frying pan, put about a TBSPN olive oil (or you can use nonstick spray) and cook the patties until a nice crust forms and golden brown on both sides.   You don’t need to cook all the way through as you are going to finish cooking the patties in a sauce.  Remove from heat and set aside.

I’m going to make the gravy super simple by doctoring up canned gravy and soup.  I didn’t have any mushrooms in the house, otherwise, I would have sautéed some mushrooms (probably baby bellas) to go in the gravy as well.   Feel free to add mushrooms when you make it.

Gravy

1-2 TBSPN butter

1 clove crushed garlic

1/4 cup marsala wine

1, 10 and 3/4 oz can of Campbell’s beefy mushroom soup

1, 1o.5 oz can beef gravy

1/4 tspn ground mustard

few dashes of zip sauce

hot shot to taste

In the same pan you cooked the salisbury steak, melt the butter and saute the garlic until fragrant (about 30 seconds).  Add in the marsala wine and reduce down a bit.  Add in the remaining ingredients, stir, and add back in the salisbury steak.   Cook on low for about an hour (or until ready to serve, but just don’t cook it for hours upon hours)

Spoon a little gravy over the top when serving and spoon a little gravy over the mashed potatoes for good measure.

Dessert time!

I know you were probably hoping for the TV dinner that came with the brownie, but I went with the fruit.  Just slap some ice cream on top, maybe a little caramel drizzle and we will call it even.   OR, you can go back and look at my brownie recipe and have at it.

Apple Pear Crisp

6 gala apples, peeled, cored, and chopped

5 bartlett pears, peeled, cored, and chopped

1/3 cup pomegranate craisins (I saw them sitting on the counter and threw them in at the last minute, you can leave these out)

1/2 cup chopped pecans

1/4 cup flour

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup granulated sugar

1 TBSPN lemon juice

1 TBSPN maple syrup

1 and 1/2 TBSPN cinnamon

Few dashes of nutmeg

Few dashes of cloves

1 capful maple extract

In a large bowl, mix all ingredients together.  Cover with plastic wrap and place in the fridge for a few hours.

Crumb Topping

1 stick of unsalted butter, cold, chopped into pieces

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/3 cup flour

1 TBSPN cinnamon

Pinch or two of nutmeg

2 packets of Quaker apple cinnamon instant oatmeal

1/3 cup Grape Nuts cereal

In a large measuring cup, crumble all ingredients together until it becomes coarse and crumbly.

In a 13 x 9 buttered (use salted butter when greasing the pan) baking dish, pour the fruit mixture in and sprinkle with the crumb topping.   Bake at 350 degrees for about an hour.   Serve warm.

*Please note, that about 10-15 minutes before taking out of the oven, I decided to sprinkle half of the crisp with a sharp cheddar cheese (grated), just for shiggles.  We shall see which side Jim likes better.*

Update:  Jim liked the cheddar cheese side better.

The kids deserve their own personal sized TV dinners.  LOL

2 responses to “It’s Fall, It’s Monday, It’s Season Premiere Week!

  1. Wow that was so delish wish I was there.

  2. The concept of salisbury steak, mashed taters, and the fruit crisp is the only thing that made this even close to a TV dinner. Why? Because this dinner was freakin’ phenominal!!! I would put any amount of money to say that m wife’s salisbury steak would rival most “real” steaks from the majority of steakhouses. How lucky am I?

Leave a Reply

