L’Shanah Tovah Ricky Ticky Tavi, Wait, No, That’s Not Right

L’Shanah Tovah Tikatevu!   Ah, it’s a new year in the Jewish calendar.   A little tidbit about me is that I was born and raised a Jew, but converted to be a Catholic about 6 years ago.   Oy, the double guilt!   However, I will ALWAYS consider myself to be Jewish regardless of my current religious practice.

I haven’t made a kugel in ages and since on the new year you are supposed to eat sweet treats, I decided to nix the fried donut idea and incorporate a dish that is typically eaten on Passover (another Jewish holiday), charoset (apples, walnuts, and booze), into a kugel.   So on the fourth day (it is Thursday right?  LOL) Julie said, “Let There Be Charoset Kugel”

One more thing, I left out the booze because I knew the kids would be eating this, but if I were to make this for adults only, I would have added some wine (a sweet wine, like malaga or a sweet marsala would probably work too)

Charoset Noodle Kugel

1 bag of extra wide egg noodles

1 stick of butter

1, 15 oz container of ricotta cheese

1, 16 oz container of sour cream

4 large eggs

1 cup of brown sugar

1 TBSPN cinnamon

1 TBSPN honey

1 TSPN vanilla extract

1 TSPN maple extract

Pinch or two of nutmeg

1 large pink lady apple, peeled, cored, and diced

1/4 cup chopped almonds

1/4 cup chopped pecans (I only used almonds and pecans because I had no walnuts in the house, if you have walnuts, use 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts instead)

Small handful of semi-sweet chocolate chips (optional)

Small handful of pomegranate craisins (optional)

Small handful of dried cherries (optional)

1 and 1/2 cup crushed Golden Grahams mixed with a little bit of cinnamon  (I didn’t have any Frosted Flakes in the house which is what I would have preferred to use)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees

In a pot, boil the egg noodles.  Drain, pour the noodles back into the pot,  and mix in the stick of butter until melted.  Leave in the pot while you mix up the rest of the ingredients.   In a food processor, mix up the ricotta, sour cream, brown sugar, eggs, vanilla, maple extract, cinnamon, nutmeg, and honey.   Pulse until everything is mixed in.   Pour the mixture into the noodles and stir until the noodles are well coated.

Mix in the apples, nuts, chocolate chips, craisins, and dried cherries (hey, I do live in TC).   Pour into a greased 13 x 9 baking dish and top with the Golden Grahams/Cinnamon mixture.   Bake for about 1 hour.   If the cereal starts to burn, cover with foil for the remainder of the cooking time.


One response to “L’Shanah Tovah Ricky Ticky Tavi, Wait, No, That’s Not Right

  1. yeah my dad will like this

Leave a Reply

