Is That Stouffer’s?

No, it’s not Stouffer’s, it’s a million times better.   I have always loved spinach and never felt the need to hide it in my food.  However, my twins are just turning two and they are not lovers of spinach.  I’m hoping that will one day change because they are my kids and they have my palate.  For now, I hide it and they never know.

This souffle takes very little prep work and is very simple to make.  Best of all, there is no need to separate your eggs with this recipe and you will still end up with a light fluffy souffle.  How?  Well, I’m going to tell you.  Magic.  ; )

Spinach And Cauliflower Souffle

1, 1o oz box of frozen chopped spinach, thawed and drained very well

1, 10 oz bag of frozen cauliflower florets

1 large vidalia onion, sliced

1 can of cream of mushroom soup

3 large eggs

2 large tbspn of horseradish cheese (same cheese I used in the horseradish cream sauce recipe)

1-2 tspn granulated sugar

1/4 tspn nutmeg

Salt and pepper to taste

2 tbspn butter

In a frying pan, caramelize the onion in the butter.  When caramelized, add in the cauliflower and spinach and continue to cook just until the cauliflower is heated through.  Remove from heat when done and set aside to cool.

When cool, add mixture into the food processor with all remaining ingredients and pulse into a thick puree.  Pour into a greased souffle dish (I used butter flavored nonstick spray) and bake in the oven at 350 degrees for 50-60 minutes (or until a knife inserted into the center comes out clean).

I served this with a simple chicken scallopini (that’s fancy talk for chicken breasts that are pounded thin).

Leave a Reply

