Horseradish, It’s Not Just For Gefilte Fish

I was roaming around the organic market the other day perusing the cheese section when I noticed this horseradish cheese.   A full fat double cream soft horseradish cheese imported from France to be exact.   I was intrigued so in my cart it went.

I took a little taste when I got home and immediately wanted to continue eating it straight out of the container.  Cheese awesomeness!

I have not made orzo in the longest time and thought some sautéed chicken and zucchini would pair well with toasted orzo and this cheese.   Like most of my cooking, I eyeballed the amounts.   So I will do my best to remember what I actually did.

Sautéed Chicken And Zucchini With Toasted Orzo In A Horseradish Cream Sauce

2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into bite sized pieces

1-2 tbspn flour

1-2 tbspn granulated garlic

1 large zucchini, large dices

2 cloves crushed garlic

1/3 cup orzo

1 cup chicken stock (eyeball it)

1/2 container of Henri Hutin Valfreis Horseradish cheese (it’s a small container, look for it in a specialty market in the cheese section)

2 large tbspn mascarpone cheese

Fresh lemon juice (to taste, I used a little more than half a large lemon worth)

2 tbspn butter

1 tbspn olive oil

Sea Salt (to taste)

Hot Shot (to taste)

In a bowl, toss cut up chicken with flour, granulated garlic, and a little sea salt.   Saute in the olive oil until golden brown and cooked through.   Remove from the pan and set aside.

In the same pan (no need to clean), add the butter and saute the orzo and zucchini until the orzo starts to turn a golden brown.  When brown, add in the crushed garlic and continue to cook for about 30 seconds-1 minute.   Add in the chicken stock, the lemon juice, mascarpone cheese, and horseradish cheese.   When the cheeses are all mixed in, toss the chicken back in and season with salt and pepper to taste.

Continue to cook until the sauce reduces down and the orzo is cooked.

2 responses to “Horseradish, It’s Not Just For Gefilte Fish

  1. You make me not want to be a picky eater!

  2. Can I just say what a relief to find someone who actually knows what theyre talking about on the internet. You definitely know how to bring an issue to light and make it important. More people need to read this and understand this side of the story. I cant believe youre not more popular because you definitely have the gift.

Leave a Reply

