Now That’s A Spicy Sanchez!

I go to the gym regularly and I often talk of food while working out.   I mean doesn’t everyone talk of potato chips, chocolate, and really greasy burgers while working out?  No?   LOL    If anything it motivates me and reminds me why I am there.   It’s not often that I indulge because I do work out so hard, but when I do indulge it’s go big or go home!

This brings me to the birth of the dirtiest sandwich on the planet, the spicy sanchez and it pays homage to the man who whips my behind into shape 3 days a week.  Spicy!!

Where does ones mind go when thinking of such a sandwich?  A hot dog in a bun.  Eh, not spicy and certainly not dirty.  How could I filthy and spice the thing up?  Ah yes, chorizo covered in a dark mole!   I took it even further and made a bean dip for the chorizo to sit on while nestled in the bun, sprinkled with some shredded cheese, and topped with sour cream.

I am warning you now, this a hell fire, burn your ass up, spicy SPICY mole.   If you don’t like spice, this is not for you.   If you like heat, you will love this.  Get the kleenex out because your nose will be running.   Let me also say that the sauce takes time to cook.  Give yourself at least 2 hours for sauce cook time.

Mole

1 onion, chopped

1 orange pepper, seeded and diced

1 yellow pepper, seeded and diced

1 cubanelle pepper, seeded and diced

1 small can of chipotle peppers in adobo sauce

1 small can of mild diced green chilis

2 dried ancho chili peppers, seeded

4 cloves of garlic, chopped

1, 14.5 oz can chicken broth

1, 12 oz bottle of a dark beer

1, 14.5 oz can of chili ready (Red Gold) tomatoes

2 tbspn unsweetened cocoa powder

3 squares of Lindt dark chocolate with chili

1 square of a really good dark chocolate

1 spoonful of Nutella (yes, I did and yes it works)

1 spoonful of peanut butter

1 small box (one of those little 1.5 oz snack size boxes) of raisins

3 tbspn of a really good chili powder

2 tbspn cumin

1 tspn of a really good cinnamon

1 tbspn of granulated garlic

1 tbspn dried cilantro

1 tspn roasted garlic red wine vinegar

Salt to taste

2 tbspn of roasted garlic olive oil

In a medium size stock pot (over medium-high heat), heat the olive oil up and saute the onion, orange and yellow peppers, and cubanelle pepper.   Saute until onions become translucent.   Add in the garlic and cook for about a minute.   Add in all remaining ingredients and continue to cook for at least 2 hours over medium heat.  After the peppers are soft, take an immersion blender and blend everything up.  You can do this in a blender, but you will have to do it in batches and just be careful to not overfill the blender because this will be hot and you don’t want to explode your blender.

Continue to cook the blended sauce for about 20 minutes.   You can opt to strain it or leave it as is.   I didn’t strain mine.   This makes a HUGE batch of sauce.   Feel free to use it on other things, like chicken over rice, etc.

Now the bean dip.   I went to the local organic market today and they had some samples of different dishes made with Seitan.   I know what you’re thinking, but keep an open mind.  My husband who despises anything vegan, loved this dip and couldn’t tell what he was eating until I told him.   Combined with the mole, he loved it even more.

The recipe is pretty close to the one they gave me in the store, but I made a few slight changes.  So technically this isn’t my recipe, but I’m blogging it anyway.  I will however, give credit to where credit is due and give a shout out to the ladies of Mama Mofoods for creating it.   : )

Vegan Bean Dip

1, 16 oz can of refried beans (use whatever brand you like)

14 oz of a fairly chunky salsa, medium heat.

1 Mama Mofoods Seitan Roast, crumbled

1-2 tbspn olive oil

2 tbspn cumin

Few shakes of hot shot

Crumble and combine the seitan roast with all the other ingredients.   Pulse in the food processor until the seitan is well combined, but not overly processed.  (You don’t want bean dip soup).  Pour mixture into a saucepan and heat through.   You don’t need to heat it up, but I preferred it warm versus room temp.

Ok, half the sandwich is now ready.    Now all you need is a good Mexican chorizo, grilled, a hearty hot dog bun (buttered and toasted if you so desire….and you may even want to use a hoagie roll instead), some shredded queso chihuahua (or a nice ooey gooey cheese sauce would work too), and a few dollops of sour cream.

Assembly:   Take the bun and put a layer of the bean dip.  Place the chorizo on top of the bean dip and spoon over some of the mole over the chorizo.  Sprinkle with cheese and top with sour cream.

And that my friends is a SPICY SANCHEZ!!!

Don't forget to wipe your upper lip when done eating!

Leave a Reply

