This Time I Would Like A #12, Still Holding On The MSG

I love all foods Asian.  Ok, I love most foods Asian.   Don’t get me wrong, I like my good old fashion American apple pie and such, but I love ethnic food.   So tonight I’m busting out the wok again.

Egg Fu Yung time!   Now I have been in Chinese restaurants where they fry the egg fu yung patties and I have been to restaurants where it’s more like a mini frittata.   My version is more like the frittata.   I will still be making the brown sauce (with my own twists of course) to go over it though.

Let’s start with the brown sauce shall we.

Brown Sauce

1 pound of ground chicken (normally I use ground pork, but tonight I’m using chicken)

1 heaping tspn of roasted red chili paste (Thai Kitchen is the brand I use)

1 bunch of scallions (green onions), chopped

1 can of water chestnuts, sliced

1 can of chicken broth (I use Swanson’s because, you guessed it, there is no MSG in it)

About 2 tbspn corn starch

2 Beaten eggs

2 tspn organic rice wine vinegar

1 tbspn thai chili sauce (not to be confused with the roasted chili paste, I used Kikkoman brand for the sauce)

Oyster Sauce

Soy Sauce

Mr. Yoshida’s Original Gourmet Sweet and Savory sauce

About a tspn sesame oil

In a nonstick frying pan over medium-high heat, coat with the sesame oil.  Cook the ground chicken with the roasted red chili paste and about half the amount of the scallions until the chicken is no longer pink.   Place the chicken mixture into a food processor along with the water chestnuts (drain them first) and pulse until the chicken is finely ground.   You don’t want a paste so be careful to not over mix.  Set aside.

In a measuring cup, add the cornstarch with enough of the chicken broth to dissolve the corn starch.   Add about 1/4 cup oyster sauce and a few healthy shakes of soy sauce.   Mix together and set aside.

In a preheated wok (about medium-high heat), add the remaining chicken broth and bring to a boil.  When boiling, stir in the beaten eggs and then add the corn starch slurry.    Stir until the sauce starts to thicken up and then turn down the heat to just above low.   Stir in the ground chicken mixture and the remaining scallions, the rice wine vinegar, and the thai chili sauce.  Feel free to leave out the chili sauce if you are not into spicy.  Now this is where typical Julie measurements start coming in.   I eyeball and taste the sauce the remaining way through.   Usually I’m putting in a few splashes of the Mr Yoshida’s sauce, a few more splashes of soy and a few more healthy shakes of oyster sauce.   If the sauce becomes too thick, I add a little bit of hot water (I did, about 1/3 cup) and then readjust sauces accordingly.  However, for blog purposes, I’m going to put my best guess on sauce amounts.   After you add the chicken and scallions, put in a few TBSPN of soy, a few TBSPN of Mr Yoshida’s sauce, and maybe another few TBSPN of the oyster sauce.    Stir and taste.   For me, I just know when it’s right.    So when it tastes right to you, it’s done.  LOL     Keep on low, stirring occasionally, until you are ready to spoon it over the egg fu yung patties.  Please note this is a large batch of sauce and you will have more sauce than you actually need.   It should keep in the fridge for a few days, otherwise you could probably freeze it and use the leftovers at a later date.

The egg fu yung could not be simpler.  The veggies you choose to add are entirely up to you.   Tonight, I chose to use what we had in the fridge (normally I would be using some cabbage and bean sprouts, but I didn’t have any), but as I said, feel free to use whatever veggies you like.

Egg Fu Yung

4-6 beaten eggs

1 can water chestnuts, sliced and drained

1 can baby corn, drained

1 small onion, sliced

Few handfuls of broccoli florets, chopped up a bit

2 tbspn Mr. Yoshida’s Gourmet Sauce

Few shakes of soy sauce

Salt and pepper to taste

Smidge of granulated garlic

Sesame oil

Remember that frying pan you used to cook the chicken in?  Get it because you are going to use it to saute up the veggies.   If you have already cleaned the pan and put it away, let this be a lesson to you as to why you should read a recipe from start to finish BEFORE you start cooking.   LOL   ; )   If you cleaned the pan, it’s no big deal.

In that frying pan, saute up the veggies with the Mr Yoshida’s sauce and soy.   You want the onions to be translucent and the broccoli to be soft, but not soggy.  When the veggies are all cooked, set aside to cool.

Add the cooled veggies into the beaten egg, add in salt, pepper, and granulated garlic to taste and mix.    In a wok (if you have another one because remember you are cooking the sauce at this point) or in another frying pan, put a small amount of sesame oil.   Now we are going to cook the egg/veggie mixture just like you would pancakes.   So you could actually do this on a griddle as well if you like.    Take a ladle full of the egg and pour into the pan.   Cook until the bottom is set and has a nice little brown crust starting to form, flip, and cook until the eggs are cooked through.    Repeat the process until all the egg mixture has been used.   Pour the brown sauce over the patties and serve.

Leave a Reply

