I’ll Take A Sack Of 10 Please

When I was pregnant, I ate more White Castle burgers than I care to admit.  There is no White Castle anywhere near where I live, so I was stuck with the frozen burgers that they sell.  Close, but not the same.

I have seen a number of copycat recipes and my husband wanted burgers tonight, so I thought, what the heck.  I figured that my version of the real deal would be much healthier and I could get the flavors pretty close.  Yep, I was right.  They are pretty tasty.  LOL

I looked at a bunch of recipes and kind of put my own spin on them.   Please keep in mind that this does take a few hours of prep work because you must freeze the burgers before cooking.

White Castle Clones

1 pound of ground chuck

2 small onions

1 clove of garlic

1 beef bouillon cube

2/3 cup water

Few shakes of hot shot (black and red pepper)

In a food processor, pulse one of the onions, the garlic, and the beef bouillon cube.  Get it to a fine dice.   Then add the meat, the water, and the hot shot.  Pulse until the onion/garlic mixture is well incorporated.

Spread some plastic wrap on a medium sized cookie sheet and spread out meat mixture on the plastic wrap.   Score the meat into squares (and do note that the burgers will shrink up a bit when cooking so make a tad larger than what you think a slider should be) and poke the signature 5 holes in each burger.  A straw would work well for this.   Place another piece of plastic wrap over the cookie sheet and place in the freezer for a few hours.

Right before cooking, chop up the other onion into a fine dice and place the diced onion into about 2 cups of water with a few TBSPN of Zip Sauce.

In a large frying pan over medium-high heat, spoon some of the onion/water mixture into the pan and let it come to a boil.   Place the burgers on top of the onions/water to let steam.  Cover and cook for a minute or two and then take the lid off.   Flip the burger over and finish cooking with the lid off.  This should take about another minute.   Repeat the process until all the burgers are cooked.

Most grocery stores now sell slider buns, but if you don’t see the mini buns, buy some hot dog buns and cut into squares.

Serve with your favorite pickles and other burger condiments.

Leave a Reply

