Mmmm……cake! Er, brownies?

This is what I have been listening to for at least the last hour.   Anything for my kids, they ask, I give.

There is a debate in my house whether or not my brownies are actual brownies.  My husband calls them texas sheet cake with frosting, I say frosted brownies.   This means you should make them for yourself and decide.   If you want a heavy fudge type brownie, then you would probably agree with my husband because they are more cake like.   But trust me, you make these and you will make them over and over and over again.

This recipe comes from my mom, who I think actually got it from a friend of hers.   Where it actually originated, I don’t know, but in true Julie fashion, I made the recipe my own and tweaked it.  Sorry mom, my brownies are better than yours.

Chocolate Brownies With Frosting

1 stick of butter, slightly softened

1 cup of granulated sugar

4 large eggs

1 cup of flour

1, 16 oz can Hershey chocolate syrup

1 capful of almond extract

1 capful of maple extract

1 tspn cinnamon

1/4 tspn nutmeg

2 heaping tbspn of Nutella

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Grease a 13 x 9 pan (I used butter flavored nonstick Crisco Spray)

Cream butter and sugar together until light and fluffy.  Add in eggs, one at a time.   Then add in cinnamon, nutmeg, almond and maple extracts.  Finally, fold in the flour and hershey syrup.   Pour batter into greased baking pan and bake 20-30 minutes.

Make the frosting when the brownies are cooled.

For the frosting:

1 and 1/2 cups granulated sugar

6 tbspn milk

6 tbspn butter

1/2 cup chocolate chips (I used 1/4 cup semisweet and 1/4 cup dark)

In a small saucepan, bring butter, sugar, and milk to a boil.  Remove from heat and mix in chocolate chips until smooth.   Immediately pour frosting over the cooled brownies.

Wait until the frosting is set before slicing.

Now you could slice into big brownies, but these are very rich, so I suggest you slice into a smaller bite size brownie.

2 responses to “Mmmm……cake! Er, brownies?

  1. yummmmmmmmmmmmmy, can I have one or two?

  2. I made lots, so yes. ; )

Leave a Reply

