Shut The Front Door That’s Low Carb?

Why yes, yes it is AND it has………BACON!!!!

I bought some rare roast beef at the deli the other day and at dinner time, I try not to eat carbs.   So that means making a sandwich is out of the question.   Yet here I sit still craving my hot roast beef sandwich with a nice rich jus/gravy and some carb laden mashed potatoes on the side.   Well I just had to make it right and make it right I did.

If you don’t like cauliflower, I beg you to try this.  Not only will it make you love cauliflower, it will satisfy any mashed potato craving you have all while doing it without the carbs.  Now doesn’t that sound like a deal?  No?  How about I throw in some bacon?   Totally sold!  LOL

Cauliflower, Bacon, and Aged Parm Mash

1 bag of Mann’s Cauliflower florets

1-2  oz of a really good aged parmigiano reggiano (I bought a big hunk from Zingerman’s)

4 TBSPN mascarpone cheese

Sea salt to taste

Hot shot to taste

1-2 TBSPN granulated garlic

Pinch of nutmeg

Few pieces of brown sugar dusted (or maple glazed) thick cut bacon. (I make my bacon in the oven, try it sometime)

Steam the bag of cauliflower in the microwave.  Don’t poke any holes in the bag, just steam as is.  Take about 3 and a half minutes.   In the food processor, pulse the parm and mascarpone cheeses together.   Add the steamed cauliflower and seasonings and pulse until well incorporated and resembles mashed potatoes.  Don’t over process as you don’t want cauliflower soup.

In a small saucepan over low heat, warm the cauliflower mash and just before serving add a few pieces of crumbled up bacon.

Wait a minute……..where’s the beef?

Don’t worry, I didn’t forget about the roast beef part.   This could not be simpler.  Take a vidalia onion, thin sliced, and caramelize in a couple of TBSPN of butter.   To the caramelized onions, add about 1/4 cup of marsala wine and cook the alcohol out a bit.   When just about all the alcohol has cooked away (this is over medium-high heat by the way) add about 1/4 cup Zip Sauce (look for it at your local grocery store) and about 1 cup of beef gravy.  I cheated and used a canned gravy because I didn’t make this rare roast beef from scratch.  Remember, I bought it from a deli.   So don’t you worry.  One day I will make roast beef from scratch and therefore a gravy from scratch.  Then you will have options.

Anyway……

To the sauce, add 1 clove crushed garlic and some hot shot to taste.   DO NOT ADD SALT!   The gravy and zip sauce is salty enough.   Turn the heat down to low and add the roast beef (I probably used a little less than 1/2 pound, I think I had 10 thin slices left).   Cover and let the roast beef warm through and the sauce reduce down.   Now you could do this about an hour or two before dinner and let it cook away and it will be fine, but really after the roast beef goes in, you would be good after about 30 minutes if you were starting to drool and just had to eat.

If you just LOVE carbs and had to eat it on bread, go ahead, I will not tell.  I recommend that you slice open a nice toasted hoagie roll, put some of the roast beef in there (with the gravy), place a good provolone over it and place under the broiler for a few until the cheese melted.  Just be good for the rest of the meal and eat the cauliflower mash instead of potatoes.  ; )

4 responses to “Shut The Front Door That’s Low Carb?

  1. i hate cauliflower, would I like the mash?

  2. You would, I promise you. Jim LOVED it and said it was better than mashed potatoes.

  3. Anything Julie makes is Fabulous

  4. OMG…..THUD!! Can’t wait to try this….Love Mashed Cauliflower…..this just looks yummy!!!

Leave a Reply

