Mupcake, Cuffin, Cupfin, Muffcake……

Muffcake?  Ok, we will not be calling them muffcakes, but call them what you will, it’s a cross between a cupcake and a muffin.  I’m trying to use up ingredients that I have in the fridge and I had some blueberry lavender goat cheese that I needed to do something with.   I tossed back and forth between sweet and savory and ultimately went for the sweet.    Yeah, because that’s fantastic for the diet.   LOL   Actually, this isn’t fat laden so it’s not too bad, but it does have sugar.

Normally I would not do this, but when in a pinch, go for the mix!   I took a Fiber One banana nut muffin mix and doctored it up.   The frosting is all me though.   Do not be afraid of the goat cheese for it does not bite.  Well, maybe a little.  ; )

Banana Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cupcakes/Muffins With a Blueberry Lavender Nutella Goat Cheese Frosting

1 box Fiber One banana nut muffin mix

3 large bananas, mashed

1/2 cup egg white substitute

1/2 cup water

1 packet of Quaker bananas and cream instant oatmeal

Few ounces of semisweet chocolate chips

3 oz of blueberry lavender goat cheese (I bought this from the local butcher here in TC.  It’s Land of Goshen goat cheese mixed with blueberry lavender preserves from Food For Thought)

About 6 oz of light cream cheese

16 oz powdered sugar

1 tsp of vanilla extract

1/2 tsp of almond extract

1 tsp maple syrup

1 heaping TBSPN of Nutella

Preheat oven to 425 degrees

In a mixing bowl (I used my kitchen-aid stand mixer), mash up the bananas.   Mix in the muffin mix, egg whites, water, and oatmeal to the bananas.   When everything is well incorporated, fold in the chocolate chips.   Spray a muffin tin with nonstick cooking spray (or use the cupcake papers), fill with the batter, and bake for about 15-20 minutes.   This will make about 12 cupcakes

While cupcakes are baking, make the frosting

In a mixing bowl (again, used my kitchen-aid), cream together the goat cheese and cream cheese.   Slowly add the powdered sugar.   Add the remaining ingredients (extracts, maple syrup, and nutella) and mix well.   Put in the fridge to keep cold while cupcakes are baking and then cooling.   This is probably way more frosting than you are going to need, but I made the frosting BEFORE I made the cupcakes.   So feel free to maybe cut the recipe in half or save the remaining frosting for something else.  Like some chocolate zucchini cupcakes.  Yeah,  I was originally going to make chocolate zucchini cupcakes to go with this, but I’m making a zucchini gratin (yes, the recipe will be posted later) with my zucchini instead.

One response to “Mupcake, Cuffin, Cupfin, Muffcake……

  1. Can’t wait! Can’t wait! Can’t wait! Can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

