You Could Sell This!

Really, I could sell it?  Well that will be $17.95 please.  ; )  My husband (and my parents) tell me all the time that I should sell my food.   If I could find a spare $500,000 to open a restaurant I totally would.   So until someone drops a sack full of cash at my feet, I will just continue to blog about it and cook for lucky few who get to sample my offerings.

My daughter Dylan is on a chicken kick.  Me, I could eat it every night so that’s fine by me.   I realized this morning that I haven’t made chicken marsala in a while so that’s what’s on the menu tonight.   I’m serving it with some roasted wax beans that I picked up at the local farm market and penne tossed with fresh mozzarella, olive oil (garlic olive oil actually), fresh crushed garlic, and a little fresh lemon juice.  I tossed the wax beans with some garlic olive oil, two cloves crushed garlic, sea salt and hot shot, a few splashes of mirin,a little lemon juice, and a few splashes of white grapefruit balsamic.  I roasted them for about 20 minutes at 400 degrees.   Simple, simple, simple.  Now why go to a restaurant and pay $17.95 for something I can teach you to make for a fraction of the cost?   That’s just crazy!  Mine is better anyway, lol.   Except if I ever do open a restaurant, well, then you should pay $17.95 for it.  ; )

Chicken Marsala

2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (pounded thin or filleted into 3-4 pieces per breast)

Seasoned flour for dredging (I season with granulated garlic, hot shot, a little sea salt, and a little onion powder)

1/4-1/2 cup marsala wine

1/4-1/2 cup chicken stock (or broth)

1 cup shrooms of your choice (tonight I’m using shitake mushrooms, normally, I would use baby bellas)

1-2 TBSPN butter

2 cloves of crushed garlic (use only one clove if you are not a lover of garlic or omit all together)

Little bit (maybe half of a small lemon) of fresh squeezed lemon juice, to taste

1-2 TBSPN olive oil for sauteing chicken breast

Season chicken breast with a little granulated garlic and dredge in the flour.   In a nonstick frying pan, saute the chicken breast in the olive oil over medium-high heat until the chicken is golden brown on each side.   Since the chicken breast is thin, it should cook fairly quickly.   Remove from pan and set aside.   Into the same pan, add the butter and the mushrooms.   Cook down the mushrooms for a few minutes and then add the crushed garlic.  Cook until fragrant (about 30 seconds to 1 minute) .  Be careful not to burn the garlic as it will become bitter.   Add the marsala wine, chicken stock, and lemon juice.  Turn down to medium and cook until the sauce starts to thicken a bit.   Readjust seasoning to taste.  I generally add a smidge of sea salt, some hot shot, and a little more granulated garlic.   Add the chicken back to the sauce to rewarm.   Serve with your favorite pasta or some simple balsamic roasted veggies for those watching carbs.

Please also note that my measurements are a guess.  I don’t measure squat when I cook unless I have to.   I eyeball everything.   Don’t be scared of the little bit of this/little bit of that cooking method.  Have fun with it.

Leave a Reply

