I Found My Thrill……

With blueberries, corn, cucumbers, and feta!  Buwah?  Huh?  You mixed what?   Blueberries need not always be a sweet treat.   Although I did make some muffins today at the request of my husband.  ; )   I love sweet and salty.  Just this morning I was talking to my trainer at the gym about cupcakes with bacon (ironic as that is to be talking about sugar and fat overload with someone I pay to keep me fit, lol).   But I digress….

My husband keeps bringing home bad corn.  And he called again today to tell me he was bringing home even more!  Stop the corn madness.  I didn’t want to make another chowder, but I needed to do something.   First I though about making some sort of corn salsa (with fruit, no tomatoes), but then I realized I had no onions in the house.   Corn salad?  Getting warmer.  Corn salad with blueberries?  That’s the ticket!  After making the proverbial blueberry pancakes and muffins, I had some leftover.   So why not?

Blueberry Corn Feta Salad

3-4 cups of fresh corn (I had  9 ears that I cooked and removed from the cob)

1 cup of blueberries

1 large cucumber, seeded and chopped (no need to peel though)

Few ounces of feta

1/4 cup chocolate balsamic  (I get this from Fustini’s in Traverse City)

1/4 cup organic rice wine vinegar

1 TBSPN roasted walnut oil (Fustini’s again)

1-2 TBSPN honey

Few healthy shakes of roasted garlic red wine vinegar

Few shakes of dried cilantro (use fresh if you have it, I happened not to)

Few shakes of granulated garlic

Sea salt to taste

Hot shot (the black and red pepper mix) to taste

In a large bowl, mix together the corn, cucumbers, blueberries, and feta.   Set aside.   In a measuring cup, mix together the balsamic, oil, honey, red wine vinegar, rice wine vinegar, cilantro (unless you are using fresh, then mix that with the corn salad), and seasonings.  Toss dressing with the corn salad and adjust for seasoning.  You may want to add a little more balsamic or rice wine vinegar, etc.   Also, if I had a red onion, I probably would have chopped some up and put it in as well.  Totally not necessary because the salad is fantastic without it, but I just happen to love onions and was a sad sack when I realized I had none.  : (

Enjoy   : )

3 responses to “I Found My Thrill……

  1. You have to taste this to understand. . . . It is terrific! Who woulda thunk it? (By the way, the latest batch of corn I brought home was good!)

  2. I modified this a bit, seeing as how I didn’t have blueberries.
    I used some sweet Long Island corn, some strawberries, basalmic, honey, and shallots. That’s all….. Simple and delicious. Also, no cheese. I completely cut it out of my diet along with regular bread.
    I enjoyed it. Hannah made a face….

  3. I love the combination of blueberries & corn. It’s such a surprise. And lucky for us there is fantastic corn available this year. I’m going to have to try this variation. I’m loving the chocolate balsamic too, so this gives me a use for it. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

