Yeah, I Would Like A #37, Hold The MSG!

Who doesn’t like greasy MSG laden Chinese?   Um, ME!  There is nothing worse than vile Chinese.  I tend to stir-fry a fair bit as I can use minimal oil and still get the crispy texture that I so desire.  You will probably see many Asian dishes pop up on my blog, but tonight we dine on orange chicken with chicken broth and mirin steamed white rice (and spicy thai chili tofu for me instead of rice).

Jim is usually a trooper when it comes to eating tofu, but I thought I would cut him a break and give him some rice.   He loves fried rice, but I don’t love the fat and calories to go with it.   So, I kind of made a steamed “fried” rice for him.   This is simple and doesn’t even require a recipe really.  Instead of using water to cook your rice, use chicken broth (stock), a little sesame oil, and some mirin (a Japanese cooking wine for those not in the know).  When it comes to a boil, take a few beaten eggs, and stir them into the liquid and then add the rice.   That’s it, that’s all there is to it.   Since a saucy dish is going over the rice, the flavors will marry up nice and there is no need to season the rice further.   If I was going to make the “fried” rice a main dish, I would do some other things to it, but that’s another recipe for another day.

Tofu, again, is super simple.  Get some extra firm/super firm tofu and cube it up.   Toss in pan (over medium heat) with a smidge of sesame oil.  I want egg too since I want to feel like I’m eating fried rice.   Yeah, let’s not kid ourselves.  Tofu is no substitution for rice, but when a girls got to eat low carb, a girls got to eat low carb.  I’ll have some rice for lunch tomorrow!   Anyway, take the beaten egg and add to the pan with the tofu.  When it’s fully cooked, stir in a big spoonful of spicy thai chili sauce and Mr Yoshida’s Original, eh a few TBSPN of it (it’s like a sweet soy sauce type sauce).  I don’t normally use pre made sauces, but this one is MSG free and well, it doesn’t suck and it’s cheaper than buying all the ingredients that it would take for me to make up the sauce.  That’s all there is to that.

On to the star, the orange chicken.  This is by no means a traditional Panada Express, or whatever vile haunt you get orange chicken from.  So if you are expecting a deep fried dish, this isn’t it.   Also, my version is slightly spicy.   If you don’t like spice, you will want to omit the thai chili sauce.

Orange Chicken

2 boneless, skinless chicken breast (cut into bit size pieces)

1 can water chestnuts

1 can baby corn

1 TBSPN corn starch

1 TBSPN panko

Few shakes of granulated garlic

Sea salt (to taste)

Crushed red and black pepper (to taste)

2 cloves minced garlic

Oil for frying

In a bowl, toss the chicken with sea salt, pepper, granulated garlic, corn starch, and panko.   Put about a TBSPN of oil (I used olive oil to cook the chicken because it’s a healthier oil.  You may want to use a different oil because it does have a stronger flavor) into the wok and cook the chicken until it starts to brown up and get crispy.   While the chicken is cooking, you will want to start mixing up the sauce.  I will get to that recipe in a second.  Remove the chicken from the pan and set aside.

Orange Chicken Sauce

1/4 cup chicken broth

1/4 cup orange juice (I actually used a bit more than this)

1 big spoonful orange marmalade

1 TBSPN of corn starch

Few shakes of mirin

Few small shakes of rice wine vinegar

1 big TSPN of roasted thai chili paste

1 TBSPN of thai chili sauce

1-2 TSPN of granulated sugar

1 TSPN of sesame oil

Few shakes of soy sauce

Mix all ingredients for sauce together and set aside until ready to use.

After the chicken comes out of the wok, add about a TSPN of sesame oil.  Add the minced garlic and cook for about 30 seconds (or until really fragrant)  You want to be careful not to burn the garlic as it will become bitter.   After 30 seconds, add the chicken back in, then add the water chestnuts and baby corn.  Cook for a minute or two and then add the sauce.   Continue to cook (on about medium heat) until the sauce thickens up.   Serve over the rice or the tofu.

Let it be known, that I COULD make the fattening deep fried version and it would be better than any take-out joint you would ever go to.  So there!  LOL


2 responses to “Yeah, I Would Like A #37, Hold The MSG!

  1. Jennifer ST Pierre

    LOL it was too funny reading this after my post! Panda Express was a step up from the McDonalds the kids were begging for. Too bad I was hungry an hour later 😦

  2. This came out fabulous!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

