Gobble, Gobble, Gobble

Turkey, it’s not just for Thanksgiving anymore.  Aside from the giant turkey legs we often see at fairs and carnivals, I think turkey is the forgotten poultry.   Ok, I will give you the month or two off that you need for turkey overload after Thanksgiving, but it’s July.  Time’s up!  Save a cow (for tomorrow) and eat some turkey.

This dish will work with dark meat or white meat.  I chose to use a whole turkey breast today, but I have done this with massive turkey legs as well.   We grow our birds BIG in these parts.  Duerksen Turkey Farm is where I usually get my stash from, but I was in Meijer the other day and saw the sad little turkey breast just sitting there.   So I threw that puppy into my cart and went on my merry shopping way.

Now this is pretty much an all day cooking dish, but don’t panic.   You don’t have to watch it all day as this is a self cooking meal when using the crock pot.  You set it and forget it!  Nope, sorry Sandra Lee, even after typing it out, I still cannot get behind anything you say or do.  Moving on……

Pulled Turkey

1, 3 pound, boneless turkey breast, skin removed (or use dark meat, legs and thighs, if you prefer)

1 and 3/4 cup chicken stock (or broth, doesn’t matter)

1 cup (about) apple cider vinegar

2 chicken bouillon cubes

Sea Salt (to taste)

Black pepper (to taste)

Crushed Red Pepper Flake (to taste)

5 cloves of garlic, chopped

Few TBSPN granulated garlic

2 big spoonfuls of garlic cherry butter (something I bought at the Cherry Festival in TC, Natalie Robyn is the maker)

2 big spoonfuls of cherry BBQ sauce (again, another Natalie Robyn product)

1 large vidalia onion, sliced

1/4 cup maple syrup

Big handful of brown sugar

Turn the crock pot on low.   In the bottom of the crock pot, place the onions (spread them out) and the chopped garlic.  Place the turkey breast on the onions and put the remainder of ingredients into the crock pot.  No need to mix them up first as the crock pot will do it for you.   Cook for about 6 hours on low.

Remove the turkey from the cooking liquid and “pull” with two forks.  It should shred up like buttah.  Drain all but a small ladle full of the cooking liquid (leave the onions though) and put the turkey back into the crock pot and toss with sauce (recipe to follow below).   Continue to cook until the sauce is thoroughly heated through and serve on a nice roll with the spicy slap your momma slaw that I posted the recipe for earlier.

BBQ Sauce For Pulled Turkey

1/2 cup Heinz ketchup (No, they don’t pay me, I just really like Heinz over other brands)

1 and 1/2 cups BBQ sauce (I used 3 different BBQ sauces, plus Sweet Baby Ray’s Steakhouse Marinade to equal this amount, feel free to use your favorite sauces or make your own)

2 TBSPN maple syrup

1-2 TBSPN Zip Sauce

Few shakes of lite soy sauce

Mix all ingredients up and toss with the turkey and onions in the crock pot.

Pictures will be coming later when I get ready to plate it all up.   : )

I have now realized that I need new plates and better plating skills.   We eat with our eyes first.

Leave a Reply

