Call The Police! There’s No Mayo In This Coleslaw!!!!

Now calm down.  Let it be known that I think mayonnaise is probably one of the more vile foods (well condiment really) on the planet.  It’s only when I need it in a recipe that I will have it in my house.  I’m no dummy, I generally DO put it in my slaw dressing, but not today.

I had some leftover Greek yogurt that I needed to use up, so I used that as my base instead.   I happened to be using the fat free yogurt, so it’s much healthier than mayo would have been.  Oh but don’t you worry, I added some bacon love later in the recipe.  Hey, you give a little and you get a little.

This is by no means a traditional coleslaw, but it’s so good that you’ll want to go out and slap someone.  I made this to be paired with a pulled turkey (think pulled pork) later, and yes, the recipe will be up this evening.  As with most things, I eyeballed the amounts.  Please keep that in mind.

Spicy Slap Yo Momma Slaw

1/4 cup Greek Yogurt

1/4 cup (maybe a tad more) apple cider vinegar

1-2 TBSPN cherry balsamic (I get all of my balsamics from a local shop in TC called Fustini’s.  They will ship to you)

1 TSPN ground mustard

1 TSPN granulated garlic

1 TSPN hot shot (it’s a red and black pepper mix that you will find in the spice aisle of your grocery store)

1 TBSPN of Thai chili sauce

1-2 TSPN of granulated sugar (yes, you can use Splenda instead, I will not tell)

1-2 TSPN of olive oil

1 TBSPN of Miracle Whip

Bag of coleslaw (I don’t know maybe 3 cups worth)

6 slices (or how ever many you want to use) of medium cut Canadian bacon  *I get my bacon from our local butcher and it’s not as salty as stuff you would get at the store*

Maple Syrup for glazing

In a measuring cup (because it’s easier to pour that way), mix together the first 10 ingredients.  Adjust seasoning accordingly to your taste preference.  If you want it spicier, add more hot shot/and or thai chili sauce.  If you think it’s too spicy, don’t blame me.  ; )   More sugar needed?  Add some.  You get the picture.

In a large bowl, toss the coleslaw with the dressing to coat.   You may have dressing leftover, so don’t just dump in all the dressing.   Just eyeball it.   You don’t want your slaw dripping with dressing.  Well maybe you do, but I don’t.  LOL    Set the bowl aside for a minute after the dressing is all mixed in.

In a nonstick pan, crisp up the bacon over medium-high heat.   You don’t need oil or spray, you can throw it in a dry pan.   When it starts to brown up a bit, brush with maple syrup and finish cooking until the bacon is caramelized with the syrup.   This step should take no more than a few minutes, otherwise you will have burnt sugar.

Chop up the bacon and toss with the coleslaw and put in the fridge to chill.

I’ll post pictures of the finished product later.

It’s later:

Leave a Reply

