Could It Be…SEITAN

It’s Friday, it’s Lent, but who says you have to eat fish again?  I always like to try to sneak in new foods without my family knowing.  2 weeks ago, I made a meatless veal parm if you will.   I found this seitan roast a while back that I really liked and thought, I could totally turn this into a meal my family would love.   They did.  My husband, the total meat and potatoes, lettuce is for rabbits guy, really loved it.  So there you have it.  There is a decent meat substitute out there even for the pickiest of palates.   I have tried numerous brands of seitan, but none have come close to Mama Mo.  This is a local MI company which is even better.   Check their site, see if they are in your area.  http://mamamofoods.com/mama_mo_home.html

Anyway, I seem to gravitate towards their seitan roast.  It’s meaty without being meaty and it’s seasoned fairly well.  Really, you could heat it up and eat it on its own, but where’s the fun in that?   Plus, those who follow my blog should realize that I always jazz stuff up.  I’m using the roast again in this recipe because it holds up well and it resembles a burger and tonight I’m making patty melts! 

This product is vegan, so technically you could make a vegan patty melt, but let’s not completely scare the crap out of my husband and kids by taking away their dairy cheese too.  One step at a time. 

There’s not much to this recipe really.   Slice the roast, grill in a pan, throw on some caramelized onions, some cheese of choice, russian dressing (aka 1000 island dressing), rye bread…done.   Simple right?  The only recipe I really need to tell you how to make is my version of russian dressing, which is equally simple to make.  

Russian Dressing

1/4 cup Mayo

2 heaping TBSPN Chili Sauce

2 heaping TBSPN Sweet Pickle Relish

1 TSPN Ketchup

Throw all ingredients into a bowl, mix, chill in the fridge, done.   If you want it with a little more heat, stir in a scant amount of horseradish.  

I like to jazz up my caramelized onions on patty melts as well.  So right when they are starting to caramelize, I add in a splash of Zip Sauce (also a MI thing), a splash of sherry, and a splash of Worcestershire.  Makes all the difference in the world.  Totally not necessary, but why not go the extra step?  Try it, you’ll love it.

How you build your patty melt is up to you.  You can make it thick as can be or a more traditional thin sandwich.  You can cook it in a panini press, throw it in a pan and simply toast up like you would a grilled cheese, or you can heat the insides, so to speak, in the pan, toast the bread separate, and then assemble.  It’s all up to you.   The kitchen is your oyster!  My bad metaphors slay me.  LOL  ; ) 

I’ll post pics later when it’s closer to dinner.   It’s 3 pm and I’m caramelizing my onions as I type.  They smell amazing. 

Edit to add pic. 

 

One response to “Could It Be…SEITAN

  1. That sounds easy and yummy.Trying to find out if they carry Mamma Mo any closer than Ann Arbor.

Leave a Reply

