Scotch Scotch Scotch…I LOVE Scotch…Eggs That Is

Scotch eggs are one of those things that you see off in a little corner of a pub menu and think to yourself, there is no way in hell I’m ordering eggs from a bar.  Then about 4 or 5 drinks in when you flip back open the menu because you’re getting drunk hungry, you think to yourself, fried eggs encased in meat….HELL YES!

For those who don’t know what a scotch egg is, I’m here to help.  Scotch eggs are hard boiled eggs, rolled in sausage (and really, you can get creative, ground turkey or ground chicken mixed with maybe a little bacon paste would be awesome too), rolled in breadcrumbs, and then deep fried.  It’s one of those things that I would generally never order out because I always think to myself, I could make that 10 times better at home.  Plus, for the most part, I like to eat healthy.  Once in a while it’s good to splurge though.  However, I decided to make a healthier version and my recipe is baked in the oven.   I’m still using sausage, but again, feel free to use turkey sausage or whatever you want to experiment with.  Some of the greatest dishes in the world were created out of kitchen accidents.  So get to creating those fabulous accidents.  ; )   In the meantime, make my scotch eggs first.  You will not be disappointed.

Scotch Eggs

6 hard boiled eggs

1 pound of bulk sausage, depending on the size of your eggs, you may need maybe 1/2 pound more sausage (feel free to kick it up, add some maple syrup, some fresh garlic, maybe a little hot sauce, etc.)

Breadcrumbs of choice to dredge eggs/sausage in  (I made homemade breadcrumbs using equal parts of panko, finely crushed Wheat Thin Cinnamon Kick Stix’s, and leftover homemade banana bread…yep, that’s right, I made breadcrumbs out of banana bread.  The sweetness of it goes great with the salty sausage)

Cooking Spray (I like buttered flavored Pam)

Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce, optional

Preheat oven to 400 degrees

1.  You can hard boil your eggs early in the morning and throw them in the fridge until later or you can even do this step the night before if you want to eat them for breakfast or brunch.   I personally like to use my eggs the same day I make them, it’s just a personal preference.  Ok, it’s because I am a bit neurotic when it comes to eating day old eggs.  LOL  You will be fine if you prep them the day before.  The trick to having the perfect hard boiled egg is using fresh eggs and not over cooking them.  I bring my eggs up to a hard boil, shut the heat off, and continue cooking for about 20 minutes or so.  Perfect   BUT this all depends on how many eggs you boil at once, size of eggs, etc.

2.  Flatten your sausage into a circle and place the egg in the middle.  Cover with the sausage making sure you see no egg.  You don’t want the layer of sausage too thin, otherwise it will crack open during the baking process.

3.  Roll in the breadcrumbs mixture until covered.   If you feel you want a thicker layer of breadcrumbs (I like a thin layer), dip your sausage balls (stop laughing) into an egg wash (aka a beaten egg or use an egg white) first and then roll into the breadcrumbs.

4.  Spray a cookie sheet with cooking spray, place the eggs on the cookie sheet, and spray the eggs with some cooking spray.  Bake for about 20-30 minutes until the sausage is cooked all the way through.

Serve hot, warm, or some people even like them cold (no thanks).  Feel free to eat as is or make some honey mustard dipping sauce.  I make mine very simply, with a really good dijon mustard and a local star thistle honey from Champion Hill Farm in Beulah MI.  Star thistle honey tastes far different from clover honey and I only keep star thistle in my house.  Love it and love that it’s local.  You could also stir in some apricot jam to the honey mustard and that would be equally awesome to eat.

I will edit later to add the pictures when I bake them.  It’s only 10:30 am right now and I just finished peeling my eggs.

Behold…the scotch egg!

2 responses to “Scotch Scotch Scotch…I LOVE Scotch…Eggs That Is

  1. I had never heard of Scotch Eggs until this post – thanks Julie!

  2. wow.i’ve never heard of this dish,sounds great to make and to eat, i will have to surprise the family with this one. thanks so much.

Leave a Reply

